What Services Does Medicaid Cover?

Ohio’s Medicaid program includes services mandated by the federal government as well as optional services Ohio has elected to provide. Some services are limited by dollar amount, the number of visits per year, or the setting in which they can be provided. With some exceptions, all medically necessary services are available to all Medicaid consumers.

Federally Mandated Services
  • Ambulatory Surgery Centers
  • Certified family nurse practitioner services
  • Certified pediatric nurse practitioner services
  • Family planning services  and supplies
  • Healthchek (EPSDT) program services (screening and treatment services to children younger than age 21)
  • Home health services
  • Inpatient hospital
  • Lab and x-ray
  • Medical and surgical vision services
  • Medicare Premium Assistance
  • Non-Emergency Transportation
  • Nurse midwife services
  • Nursing Facility care
  • Outpatient services, including those provided by Rural Health Clinics and Federally Qualified Health Centers
  • Physician services
Ohio’s Optional Services
  • Ambulance / ambulette
  • Chiropractic services for children
  • Community alcohol and drug addiction treatment
  • Community mental health services
  • Dental services
  • Durable medical equipment and supplies
  • Home and Community Based Services Waivers
  • Hospice care
  • Independent psychological services for children
  • Intermediate Care Facility services for people with Mental Retardation (ICF-MR)
  • Occupational therapy
  • Physical therapy
  • Podiatry
  • Prescription drugs
  • Private Duty Nursing
  • Speech therapy
  • Vision care, including eyeglasses